Student Council Gets New Leaders

Student Council Gets New Leaders

A new student Council of the Technical University of Kenya (TU-K) has been sworn in today, by the University Secretary Mrs. Ruth Kirwa.

Brian Reeves Obare is the Chairman of the Council and deputised by Josephine Valarie Marani. The secretary General position has been taken over by Jackson Kobia Anampiu and the Finance docket by Janet Wanjiru Mwangi.
Other officials who will serve in the Students’ Council include; the Constitutional Affairs Secretary by Nevil Odoyo Odhiambo, Academic Secretary Pharis Wambugu Jane, Gender Affairs Secretary Rose Adongo Okiya among others.

Vice-Chancellor Prof. Francis Aduol who was accompanied by his deputies Prof. Joseph Kiplang’at in charge of Administration, Planning and Infrastructure (API), Prof. Paul Shiundu in charge of Academics, Research and Students (ARS) congratulated the new officials and applauded students for carrying out peaceful elections.

Student Council Gets New Leaders
The incoming students’ council leaders during the swearing-in ceremony
Student Council Gets New Leaders
Some of the students casting votes to elect their representatives.

The VC said, “You have demonstrated to other universities and the country at large that elections can be peaceful and that people do not need to fight during and after elections. The winners and losers have accepted the results with grace. Indeed we are proud of you.”

He reminded officials to take up the responsibility with honour and that they have enormous duty awaiting them.

“Remember that you are laying down a foundation that will be read by your children in future,” added the VC.

While reminding both student leaders and the student fraternity to uphold laws spelt out in the Charter, Statutes as well as the Student Constitution, Mrs. Kirwa applauded the student voters for complying with the third gender rule that ensures that the Council has a face of women representation.

The School of Mathematics and Actuarial Sciences stepped out of the norm. A woman student representative from the School, Dorcas Wamaitha Gatheru carried the day and will be deputised by Evans Ouma Odhiambo.

The incoming Chairman thanked the administration and student fraternity and promised to deliver their mandate.